At the Ramsay Law Firm, P.A., our Workers’ Compensation law firm founder and managing attorney, Martha Ramsay, has been giving a voice to the injured for more than 25 years.
As a Board-Certified Workers’ Compensation attorney in Charlotte, Martha has helped injured employees throughout North Carolina understand their rights when filing a claim for benefits after suffering a workplace injury.
The first thing we want all injured employees to know is the North Carolina workers’ compensation claims process can be complicated and confusing, which may lead to workers making mistakes along the way.
Unfortunately, workers’ compensation insurance companies will use these mistakes to delay, undervalue, or deny claims.
Here is how injured employees can avoid common pitfalls in the workers’ compensation process.
Report All North Carolina Workplace Injuries to the Employer Immediately After They Occur
If you suffer an injury at work in North Carolina, report it to your employer right away, and be sure the incident is recorded in writing.
North Carolina workers have 30 days to submit written notice of the injury to their employer but should take advantage of an immediate opportunity to ensure their employer is informed of the accident, which can be as simple as a handwritten note.
If you never directly report the injury or seek medical treatment after it occurs, your employer, their insurance company, and the North Carolina Division of Workers’ Compensation can dispute that your injury occurred at work and deny your claim outright.
Seek Proper Medical Treatment Immediately After the Injury Occurs
Failing to seek the proper medical treatment for your North Carolina workplace injury or illness will directly put you at risk of having your workers’ compensation claim denied.
If you have been hurt at work:
- Report your injury to your employer
- Seek medical care right away
- Follow all physician’s directions in full
Each of these steps will help support your claim and allow you to pursue medical treatment costs and make up for lost income when you are unable to work.
Partner With a Skilled North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Attorney to Help Strengthen Your Case
Although North Carolina workers’ compensation laws do not require injured workers to pursue workers’ compensation with the help of an attorney, there are multiple benefits to having a skilled workers’ comp lawyer by your side.
- Ensuring your workers’ compensation claim paperwork is completed and all details are met
- Submitting supporting evidence to help strengthen your case, including witness statements and medical records
- Appearing before the Industrial Commission, should your initial claim be denied
Our Mecklenburg County workers’ compensation specialists work hard for the hardworking people of North Carolina, which allows our clients to focus on their well-being while we pursue the financial support they will need to fully heal.
All Workers Welcome. Ask Martha for Help Today.
Contact Our Workers’ Compensation Specialists in Charlotte, North Carolina at the Ramsay Law Firm, P.A. for a Free Consultation Today
At the Ramsay Law Firm, P.A., our Charlotte workers’ compensation attorneys are dedicated to helping our North Carolina residents have their voices heard through customized legal representation that ensures you will never get lost in the shuffle or be bogged down by red tape and legal details.
Call us at (704) 376-1616 or contact us online to meet with a Board-Certified Workers’ Compensation attorney and allow our skilled team of lawyers and support staff to handle each detail of your case, so you can focus on your recovery.