At the Ramsay Law Firm, P.A., our experienced Charlotte workers’ compensation attorneys know that when employees are hurt on the job, there may be a lot of confusion surrounding their reporting options.
Like any accident with injuries, the adrenaline produced from a work injury often masks the pain, which results in employees believing they are not that hurt, so they do not mention it and simply go back to work. When the pain and injuries worsen over the next few days, some workers may believe they missed their window to report the incident.
Others may not believe their injuries are compensable, so they suffer in silence.
Unfortunately, these are not the only reasons employees do not report workplace injuries to their
North Carolina employers.
What are the Top Reasons North Carolina Employees Do Not Report Their Injuries?
Our workers’ compensation law firm founder and managing attorney, Martha Ramsay, has been giving a voice to the injured for more than 25 years
During that time, one of the most common reasons she and our workers’ compensation specialists have heard for not reporting a workplace injury is that they are afraid of losing their jobs.
It is important for all North Carolina workers to know that by law an employer cannot fire an employee because they were hurt at work. If they do, the employer may be facing more than one legal claim as a result, because doing so is illegal.
Another reason employees do not report workplace injuries is they believe they might get too far behind in their duties if they are absent for an extended period, or they fear being replaced by a new hire.
Other times, employees do not report injuries because:
- The injury was caused by a mistake that was their fault.
North Carolina is a no-fault workers’ compensation state. If an employee was not acting recklessly or negligently — even if their mistake led to the injury he or she may be compensated.
- They believe the workers’ compensation process is too complex.
Many employees do not report their injuries because they do not understand the reporting system, or the next steps they should take to pursue the benefits they are entitled to. When employers do not provide clear workplace accident reporting instructions, employees are left to navigate the process alone. When this is true, some may feel like it is not worth the trouble.
- Their employers actively discourage injury reports.
Whether an employer is worried about their safety record, increased OSHA inspections, negative press, or simply does not want their workers’ compensation insurance premium to increase, they should never discourage employees from reporting their injuries.
Unfortunately, it happens. And it is illegal.
In any workplace accident that results in an injury, no matter how minor, employees in North Carolina have 30 days to report it to their employer, supervisor, human resources representative, or another reporting member within the company.
If you would like help filing a workers’ compensation claim in North Carolina to help ensure your rights are protected throughout the process, contact our skilled Board Certified workers compensation attorneys in Charlotte today to schedule a free consultation.
Your Voice. Our Experience. Seeking Solutions for All Workers.
Contact Our Workers’ Compensation Specialists in Charlotte, NC, at the Ramsay Law Firm
At the Ramsay Law Firm, our dedicated workers’ compensation law firm in Charlotte provides free consultations to all injured North Carolina employees by calling 704-376-1616 or contacting us online
Our Board Certified Workers’ Compensation attorneys and a skilled team of lawyers and support staff in Charlotte are here to manage each detail of your case, so you can focus on your recovery.
All Workers Welcome. Ask Martha for Help Today