North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Benefits to Begin After an Injury Occurs
At the Ramsay Law Firm, P.A., our Charlotte workers’ compensation attorneys have represented injured workers for over 25 years. This means we understand the timeline to receive workers’ compensation benefits in North Carolina is specific to each worker’s case and depends on several factors.
However, there are general deadlines that must be legally met in each case, to ensure the employee, employer, and insurance provider are all acting in good faith to reach a workers’ compensation resolution.
In general, here is what you can expect from the North Carolina workers’ compensation process.
Immediately Notify Your Employer When an Injury Occurs
Although you legally have 30 days to report a workplace injury, the first step in pursuing a successful workers’ compensation claim in North Carolina is reporting the injury to your employer immediately after it occurs. This leaves little room for your employer to dispute whether the injury occurred at work.
Seek medical treatment for your injuries right away, visiting the nearest approved physician identified in your employer’s workers’ compensation guidelines. If your employer cannot identify an approved healthcare provider, seek care at the nearest healthcare facility. Be sure to tell the physician you were hurt at work.
When Do Workers’ Compensation Benefits Begin in North Carolina?
From the time you notify your employer of your injury, your employer must notify its workers’ compensation insurance carrier within five days of receiving your notice.
Your employer should also provide a workers’ compensation form for you to fill out, which must be completed and sent to the North Carolina Industrial Commission to file for benefits.
Your employer, their insurer, or the North Carolina Industrial Commission should notify you within 14 days whether your claim has been approved or denied. However, your employer can take up to 90 days to decide your claim.
Payments for medical care can begin as soon as you are injured. After being unable to work due to a work-related injury for seven days, you become eligible to receive workers’ compensation benefits for lost wages. After 21 days out of work, you can receive payment for the first seven days of work you missed.
This timeline changes if you are initially denied benefits or only authorized to receive medical care. If you dispute the denial of benefits or are not being paid for lost time, you can appeal the decision.
If you have not contacted an experienced workers’ compensation attorney in North Carolina to handle your claim from the beginning, now is the time. The process is only going to become more challenging from here. Ask Martha for Help Today.
Contact Our Dedicated Workers’ Compensation Attorneys in Charlotte, North Carolina
Our dedicated workers’ compensation law firm provides free consultations to workers who have been injured by calling 704-376-1616 or contacting us online.
Your Voice. Our Experience. Seeking Solutions for All Workers.